I’m a princess

And so, if you were born in the ’80s, are you. Most of us who came of age in the ’90s have a Disney princess or two we strongly identify with. I’ve always had a strong visceral attachment to The Little Mermaid because I watched it on repeat when I had the chicken pox as a five-year-old (in 1989, the year it came out, I just learned). Now it’s like a comfort blanket that conjures pure happiness, much like the  It’s A Small World ride at Disneyland itself. It’s childhood magic at its best, right up there with Santa Claus.

I like elements of many of the princesses. Belle was smart. She always had “her nose stuck in a book” (I still somehow know all of the songs from all of the films). And she was kind (but weren’t they all?).

Jasmine was gorgeous, with her thick dark hair that hung past her perky, silk-encased exotic hips. She had those mesmerizing almond eyes. Who cares about her personality; I’ll be her. Or Kim Kardashian.

Ariel was a precocious 16-year-old redhead. She seemed brave, curious, and  a lot of fun. But Pocahontas was even more cool. She was strong-willed, adventurous, independent, and in tune with the natural world. I would have to say, if I had to pick, that she is my favorite.

Snow White, Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty  all seem to be more one-dimensional, perhaps because they are more old-school, created in ’37, ’50 and ’59, respectively. Is it nostalgia, or was the last decade of the 20th century more special? For Disney, I think it was a golden age. But nothing gold can stay…

Leave a Reply

