Books that saved me

Natalia Rose

When I was in college, I began to suffer from some unsettling symptoms: fatigue, severe anxiety, dizziness with fainting spells, prolonged sicknesses, depression and mood swings, and foggy and unclear thinking. I knew something was wrong with me; I knew I wasn’t supposed to feel like that. My whole life to that point, I had enjoyed exquisite, ectastic, perpetual well-being: endless energy, perfect metabolism, and constant happiness. I did well in school and was popular with my friends. What had happened to me?

An acculumation of prescription drugs and processed foods had created an extremely toxic environment. My liver had become overburdened, creating a domino effect of stagnation inside my body. But I didn’t realize this for a long time. Every night I would wonder what was wrong with me and pray to feel normal again, like I used to feel. I didn’t have a name or a specific diagnosis; therefore I couldn’t seek help from a doctor nor understanding from friends or family. To myself, and to everyone else, I was just inexplicably unwell and “off.”

One day my prayers were answered. I was guided to a particular shelf in my college campus where I found  books I had never seen or knew existed: books on natural health, holistic and alternative healing (alternative is an ironic term; it is alternative to what is generally accepted and is called Western medicine, but many of these practices have been used and proven effective for millenia), and nutrition. I finally learned the principles of the mind-body-soul connection. What you put into your body has a very profound effect on how you look and how you feel. Therefore, if you are not taking care of this one factor, you are significantly affecting your happiness, well-being and success potential.

The very first book that came to my rescue, and one that I will never forget, is The Raw Food Detox Diet by Natalia Rose. I do not eat all raw nor am I vegan, but this book enlightened me and spurred me to seek out countless other books (and later, documentaries) on the subject. I learned all about detoxing and the effects of the modern American diet and lifetyle. I began watching what I ate and seeking out super high-quality foods. I never consciously let another pesticide, preservative, hormone, antibiotic or artifical ingredient into my body again.

It took a long time for me to feel completely better. Years, in fact. It was a gradual process, but an interesting one. Thoughts and self-love are also very important. I hated that I had to deal with that situation, but glad of what I have learned. One important thing — something that many people find somewhat disturbing — is my avoidance of all doctors and medicine. I hope to never take a pill again and to never see a doctor again, unless it is an extreme emergency. If one has built a foundation of health, then sicknesses will be few; if something does arise, the body is always able to heal itself with the proper harmonious tools. There are many natural remedies that heal without side effects. Here are a few other great books:

Raw Food Life Force Energy by Natalia Rose

The Maker’s Diet by Jordan Rubin

Eating for Beauty by David Wolfe

The Gerson Therapy by Charlotte Gerson

Natural Cures … by Kevin Trudeau (this one has mixed reviews; however, lots of interesting information about things you wouldn’t normally consider, like the damage caused by microwaves)

Not everything you learn and read about will fit your personal mindset and lifestyle. Some people choose to eat meat while others don’t. Some people think there is nothing wrong with taking pills — like birth control — on a daily basis. My personal beliefs were formed by experiences and research, validated by intuition and tangible effects.

2 responses to “Books that saved me

  1. lindsaylapaugh

    Natalia Rose did the same thing for me! I love her, and while I am not a vegan, I do enjoying juicing and have made major changes to my diet and lifestyle, and it all started after reading her book!

Leave a Reply

